John Myers sent this objection to the presence of his name and of the domain name sherwoodcs.com in the Rhyolite Software list of apparently related unwelcome domains. He said in part
You obviously did not enter into proper due diligence in creating your list, as I have NEVER spammed anyone. Ever. I don't even maintain a list of current and past customers for such a purpose. And, in creating and publishing your list on the Internet, for all the world to see, you have defamed myself and my companies, and committed libel, as defined by law. I have, several times over the years, received bounce messages from e-mails where my information has been spoofed by spammers, but again, that's easily identified and would be discovered with even a modicum of effort at due diligence. As this is your domain, you may do with it what you wish, so I will not complain regarding your decision to block my domain, justified or not, but I will not have you defaming myself and my companies in this manner. Remove me and my domain from your published list immediately.
John Myers' domain name is in my list because of this unsolicited bulk email or spam advertising the services of www.promote-o-matic.com, www.successarsenal.com, and www.trafficmultiplier.com. (That file is a dccm logdir file.) He does not name his companies, but judging from current WHOIS records for promote-o-matic.com, successarsenal.com, trafficmultiplier.com, I suspect he is referring to enterprises associated those advertised domain names. The contact for all of those domain names is Marie Myers with an address of jandmconcepts@sherwoodcs.com. That is why the domain name sherwoodcs.com is in the list.
John Myers' own name is listed because it was and still is in the WHOIS record for sherwoodcs.com. Recording the names of contacts for domain names makes it easier to recognized related domain names and improves the accuracy of the list of apparently related unwelcome domains.
I wonder if this John Myers is the same person whose objection to a spam complaint was reported by Andrew Hart to the news.admin.net-abuse.email USENET newsgroup and recorded by Google. It read in part:
In your zeal to cut down on SPAM, the bane of many of our existences, you have made fraudulent and/or libelous claims against parties not involved in the distribution of said SPAM.
In accordance with law, the e-mail states that this is a one time mailing, meaning removal from the mailing list is not necessary, as there will be no further offers made by the sender. Further, a valid e-mail address is given, with removal instructions, in accordance with the law you remark in your e-mail, quoted below. *
Additionally, you made complaint against innocent parties, and as such may be held liable in civil proceedings should your complaint(s) result in improper punitive actions against said parties.
trafficmultiplier.com, it's hosts, services and owners had, and have, no control over the marketing done by persons other than those employed directly by the company, trafficmultiplier.com.
I disagree with that statement. I think spam is any and all unsolicited bulk email, even when it claims to be a one time mailing and really is. (That is only one of many reasons set forth over the years by unsolicited bulk mail advertisers who define spam as that which they don't do.)
Notice that the spam Andrew Hart reported was apparently in February, 2002, while the spam sent toward my mailbox was from December, 2002. That is one of the reasons that make me doubt that it was forged. It seems likely that when John Myers denies sending spam, he is denying sending unsolicited bulk email that was not what he considers "a one time mailing."
If I am wrong about any this, I would be happy to correct these web pages. However, I should hear about those errors through, because the threat of litigation in John Myers' objection makes any and all email from him to Rhyolite Software, LLC, its principals, and its employees unwelcome. As stated in the list of objections to the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domains, threats of litigation mandate entries in the list. Communications between litigants should be through their attorneys.
Contact vjs@rhyolite.com but not this spam trap.