Jared McQueen and homemailers.net

May 20, 2002 Objection

Jared McQueen asked this question about why homemailers.net is in the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domains. That listing exists because of this unsolicited bulk mail. (That message is from a dccm logdir file.) I offered this response to Mr. McQueen.

May 24, 2002 Question

Mr. McQueen then sent this message to which I made this response.

May 24, 2002 Request

Mr. McQueen made this request later on May 24. I hope publishing all of the relevant records satisfies his request.

December 17, 2003

Mr. McQueen sent this note complaining that a purchaser of his domain name might be affected by its entry in my list To me it seems unlikely that anyone not in the unsolicited bulk email business would be interested in a domain name such as homemailers.net. However, a prudent prospective purchaser not in that business would surely check the reputation of the domain name before purchasing it.

The whois owner of record of the domain homemailers.net name is now Ultimate Search of Hong Kong. I have seen a lot of spam from domains nominally owned by Ultimate Search, and so I treat that ownership as prima facie evidence of bad intentions with respect to unsolicited bulk mail.

February 9, 2004

Mr. McQueen sent this note asking that remove his name from all of this. I do not understand that request. As far as I know Mr. McQueen was responsible for the unsolicited bulk mail that started this saga. If the homemailers.net domain name has been (or is eventually) sold, Mr. McQueen would remain responsible.

March 8, 2004

Mr. McQueen sent this note objecting to my rudeness. Evidently he does not understand at the start of the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domains that is a list of domain names form which mail is not welcome because of "objectionable mail supposedly from or about them and sent to machines to mailboxes I read."

I am not convinced that Mr. McQueen had nothing to do with the unsolicited bulk mail that required that homemailers.net be added. He may not have personally sent that message, but it seems likely that one of his customers, users, or affiliates sent it. Moreover, it seems less likely that a new owner of the domain name would send any mail that would be welcome at Rhyolite Software than mail that would be as unwelcome as the original unsolicited bulk message. That might answer Mr. McQueen's question "What is the point in leaving it on there?" If not there are more words in the list of objections about entries in the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domains.

Contact vjs@rhyolite.com but not this spam trap.

$Date: 2008/07/07 14:33:12 $