Brian Wade Bickford of CC Media Network USA

September 15, 2006

Brian Wade Bickford sent this objection to something in the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domains. That message is in a dccm logdir file. It was rejected by the SMTP filters in use at rhyolite.com, and I found it only by chance while monitoring the operation of the filters. Its legible or not encrypted in HTML content included this text:

In August, we asked your assistance in removing illegally placed material that is served on your site. At the date of this follow-up request, we see that you have not complied with our earlier request to work together in a cooperative manner.
Please see the original request below.
We are again requesting that you remove the fraudulent content listed on your site as we have identified the perpetrator and are currently prosecuting their actions in court.
If you are not willing to cooperate and remove the fraudulent information that materially hurts our company in the next 2 weeks, we will take legal steps as our next effort to gain cooperation.
Your assistance is gratefully appreciated as I know you do not condone the actions of the few that make the internet a hostile medium. If you have questions, please contact me directly.

The message included what was apparently the "original request below":

Our firm wishes to ask your cooperation in removing falsely submitted information that is currently hosted on your site.
The person responsible for submitting this information was apprehended and there is now an on-going trial in Moscow, which will result in a long jail sentence. Because we would not circum to his extortion and ransom demands, the perpetrator executed a large-scale damage campaign in 2004, thus submitting false postings, conducted a spam blitz and offered to sell stolen proprietary information. After two years of legal actions against this criminal, we are now working with other e-business leaders to remove this damaging information. This information has hurt our company financially and the hundreds of employees that work for us worldwide.
We hope that you will support us as we try to recover from this event. Please take notice to a posting to our customers at http://www.camcontacts.com/spamemail.html.
The defamation content on your site is at the following locations:
a...
http://www.rhyolite.com/anti-spam/unwelcome-c.html

My readily available mail logs do not contain that so called original request. If it was sent using the same facilities as the September 15 message, it would have also been rejected. It is possible that it is in off-line dccm log files.

It is not at all clear to what Mr. Bickford is objecting. On September 15, 2006 there are more than 9,000 domain names in the overall Rhyolite Software unwelcome domain names and more than 650 in Part C which he mentions in his copy of his "original request." He does mention a statement at www.camcontacts.com, so perhaps he objects to the presence of camcontacts.com and camcontacts.net. Those entries were provoked in part by this spam.

I would be happy to correct any errors in the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domain names, but at this time I know of none. No user at Rhyolite Software wants email from camcontacts.net or camcontacts.com. I just now looked at the http://www.camcontacts.com and http://www.camcontacts.net and found that they seem to concern adult entertainment which does not interest any user at rhyolite.com. Thus, there is no apparent reason to revise the years old determination that mail from camcontacts.net and camcontacts.com is not welcome at rhyolite.com and so require the addition of ccmedianetworkusa.com to Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domain names.

Because of his legal threats, any communications between Rhyolite Software and CC Media Network USA must be conducted through our respective attorneys. His legal threats by themselves make email from him unwelcome at rhyolite.com.

Other Questions

Other questions are answered in the list of objections about entries in the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domains.

Contact vjs@rhyolite.com but not this spam trap.

$Date: 2008/07/07 14:33:12 $