Erich Krauss of LANgrafix

December 22, 2004

On December 22, 2004, Erich Krauss sent this objection to the presence of langrafix.net and 216.159.240.224/27 in the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domains and IP addresses.

Those entries exist because of this unsolicited advertising email concerning "Fiery-Direct Copier Controller Pricing." That file is a dccm logdir file and so includes DCC target counts near the end. The target counts of "MANY" show that substantially identical copies of the advertising were sent to other addresses, and so the message was unsolicited bulk advertising mail or spam. The message appears to advertise the goods and services sold by LANgrafix. See also the reports from other targets of that advertising in the Google Archive. Thus, there is no obvious mistake in the entry in the Rhyolite Software list.

The Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domains is not made available as a DNS blacklist and so it seems likely that Mr. Krauss is mistaken about the cause of any rejections of his organization's mail.

February 14, 2005

On February 14, 2005, Mr. Krauss sent another objection.

I do not understand what he means by "spoof" and "phantom" URLs. I do know that the langrafix spam received at rhyolite.com makes mail from Mr. Krauss's organization unwelcome at Rhyolite Software no matter how it is sent.

February 21, 2005

On February 21, Mr. Krauss sent a third objection to the presence of langrafix.net in the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domain. This time he also complains about this documentation of his objections, say that there is some sort of "false pretence that e-mails sent to you concerning such matters will be privately reviewed and considered." I did say that the list of objections

    contains only those objections, questions, or complaints that seem
    to be threatening or denying the undeniable. Polite, relevant messages
    such as reports of clear errors in those lists are not listed.

I do not think any of Mr. Krauss's messages meet those qualifications for not being listed. However, upon reflection, I realize that many people making what I perceive as threats or denying the undeniable do not see themselves as doing either. I also now realize that my notion of a polite and reasonable message might differ from that of people who send unsolicited bulk advertising. For my error, I apologize to Mr. Krauss.

Mr. Krauss insists that the unsolicited bulk email sent to dcc-request@rhyolite.com was not sent from langrafix.net. Examination of a sample of that unsolicited advertising shows that it was sent from 216.159.240.231. As of today, the ARIN whois server says the IP address block 216.159.240.224/27 containing 216.159.240.231 is assigned to Lanscape, Inc. dba Langrafix, 73 Riverside Rd., Floor 3, Elgin, IL. That SMTP client IP address that sent one of Mr. Krauss's objections, 216.159.240.228, is also in that address block. It seems safe to conclude that the unsolicited advertising was sent by a computer owned and operated by LANgrafix.

Perhaps in response to my mystification about what he meant by "spoof" and "phantom" URLs, he refers to eBay's definition. I see nothing relevant to the common notions of "phishing" or "spoofing" in the unsolicited bulk advertising mail sent by Mr. Krauss's organization. Even if Mr. Krauss's statements are correct and LANgrafix did not knowing send unsolicited bulk email advertising for its products and services, mail from LANgrafix remains unwelcome at Rhyolite Software, because all mail from any organization that fails to prevent unauthorized spam is unwelcome at Rhyolite Software.

Mr. Krauss also seems to be saying that that the advertising sent me is unrelated to his business and talks about "magnet filters made to remove microscopic partials of metal from molten plastic." I do not understand what he means, because the spam sent me and the LANgrafix website concern printers and computers. One might guess that Mr. Krauss is not associated with the computer and printer reseller that owns sent the spam or that owns that website, except that the whois record for LANgrafix.com and for LANgrafix.net name Erich Krauss.

Mr. Krauss complains that I call his organization "SPAMMERS." Because LANgrafix computer were used to send unsolicited bulk email advertising and I define SPAM as unsolicited bulk email, LANgrafix must be considered at least past "SPAMMERS." Of course, that shows nothing about any other aspect of LANgrafix. As far as I know, the unsolicited bulk email advertising sent by LANgrafix violates no laws.

Mr. Krauss also says that the LANgrafix entry in the Rhyolite Software list has affected his email and profits. That the Rhyolite Software list has affected either seems unlikely, because the Rhyolite Software list is not made available in a form that is can be readily used to block mail at any other SMTP server. Why would peole interested in "[removing] microscopic partials of metal from molten plastic" care about the Rhyolite Software list?

This third objection from Mr. Krauss also makes what I understand to be legal threats. Those threats are themselves compelling reasons why all communications from Mr. Krauss or LANgrafix must be sent only to the Rhyolite Software lawyers and why any and all email from langrafix.com is unwelcome at rhyolite.com. For that reason alone langrafix.com must be added to the list of domain names unwelcome at Rhyolite Software, even should a mistake be found in the original reasons.

August 6, 2005

On August 6, 2005, someone name "The Management LAN grafix" sent a complaint. I found it repetitive and difficult to understand. It seems to be another legal threat using words and phrases similar to those of the messages from Mr. Krauss. The author's complaint seems to be that the public information in these pages have somehow caused a flood of spam and viruses to be sent somewhere or other and that some system has suffered a "sudden infestation of mysterious hacking." I doubt there is any connection with these web pages and the problems at "LAN graphix."

Other Questions

Other questions are answered in the list of objections about entries in the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domains.

Contact vjs@rhyolite.com but not this spam trap.

$Date: 2008/09/29 16:50:50 $