Adriano Caldevilla

December 8, 2004

Adriano Caldevilla sent this objection to the presence of his name in the Rhyolite Software list of related unwelcome domains.

What may be Mr. Caldevilla's name and address is in a copy of the hetflix.com domain name's public whois record when the spam was sent and later in December, 2004. That information as well as the hetflix.com domain name are in the Rhyolite Software list because of this spam. (That is a dccm logdir file.) See also these Google archives.

December 14, 2004

On December 8, Mr. Caldevilla sent another message. As far as I can tell, he feels that his messages are not spam because spam is not something he would do. Apparently his name and mail addresses, unlike mine, should be protected lest bad people discover them.

Please review Mr. Caldevilla's spam, which said it was an"advertisement from Wal-Mart, brought to you by Hetflix.com." Never mind the fact that other people reported Mr. Caldevilla's spam combined with the fact that typical spam reporting rates are below 0.01% might contradict Mr. Caldevilla's claim that his advertising was not bulk. Was sort of advertising for DVD rentals would be sent to only two people?

I cannot help wondering if Wal-Mart authorized Mr. Caldevilla's advertising. It did not come from an IP address that I recognized as Wal-Mart's. The links in the spam did not seem to go to Wal-Wall's on-line store. The only connection I could find between Mr. Caldevilla's organization and Wal-Mart was Mr. Caldevilla's use of images from Wal-Mart's web site in his spam.

Notice the similarity between Mr. Caldevilla's domain name, hetflix.com, and the older, better known organization named netflix.com that is also in the DVD rental business. I am surprised at the implicit notion that Wal-Mart might tread so closely to another organization's trademark. I cannot help noticing today that the web server for Mr. Caldevilla's domain name hetflix.com redirects to the Netflix web site.

Other questions are answered in the list of objections about entries in the Rhyolite Software list of unwelcome domains.

Contact vjs@rhyolite.com but not this spam trap.

$Date: 2008/09/29 16:50:45 $